Designed and developed by renowned experts in the field of HIV care and pharmacology, The Liverpool Course aims to educate participants on key concepts in clinical pharmacology and drug-drug interactions, that remain a major consideration in the management of people living with HIV.  It is organized in collaboration with the University of Liverpool and the leading experts who developed the Liverpool HIV drug interactions checker, a comprehensive drug-drug-interaction resource freely available to healthcare practitioners worldwide.  The course provides an interactive, educational setting where clinicians and other healthcare practitioners working in the field of HIV can acquire specific skills that will enhance their capabilities to assess potential drug-drug interactions, interpret research results, and ultimately improve the management of their patients.

Wednesday 16 September 2020

16:00 CEST 

#LiverpoolCourse

  • Twitter
  • Facebook
  • LinkedIn
  • YouTube
 
SUBMIT A CLINICAL CASE

We are inviting any attendee to submit an interesting/challenging clinical case involving a drug-drug interaction, or clinical pharmacology problem involving HIV drugs.  If your case is selected, we will work with you to prepare 2-3 slides which will be presented by the moderator in the session.  You will also be invited to appear live (on Zoom) in the session to provide a brief comment, and to clarify any clinical feature of the case raised by the discussants or the audience.

Submission deadline: 
31 August 2020

 
 
CHAIRS
David Back, MD, PhD

University of Liverpool

Liverpool, United Kingdom

Saye Khoo, MD PhD

University of Liverpool

Liverpool, United Kingdom

Jonathan Schapiro MD

Sheba Medical Center

Tel Aviv, Israel

AGENDA  
Time Zone Naming Reference:
PDT:  US West Coast Time (UCT-9) | EDT:  US East Coast Time (UCT-6) | CEST:  Central European Summer Time (UTC+2) | EEST:  Eastern European Summer Time (UTC+3) | ICT:  Indochina Time (UTC+7)
07:00 PDT
10:00 EDT
16:00 CEST
17:00 EEST
21:00 ICT
Opening of the Virtual Program:  Welcome and Goals 
David Back, MD, PhD

University of Liverpool

Liverpool, United Kingdom

Session 1
Chair:  Prof. David Back
07:10 PDT
10:10 EDT
16:10 CEST
17:10 EEST
21:10 ICT
DDIs in Acutely Sick Patients
Saye Khoo, MD, PhD

University of Liverpool

Liverpool, United Kingdom

07:35 PDT
10:35 EDT
16:35 CEST
17:35 EEST
21:35 ICT
COVID-19, Me and Clinical Pharmacology
Andrea Calcagno, MD, DTM&H

University of Torino

Turin, Italy

08:00 PDT
11:00 EDT
17:00 CEST
18:00 EEST
22:00 ICT
Live Q&A on COVID-HIV
08:10 PDT
11:10 EDT
17:10 CEST
18:10 EEST
22:10 ICT
Break
Session 2
Chair:  Prof. Saye Khoo
Discussant:  Dr. Jonathan Schapiro
08:25 PDT
11:25 EDT
17:25 CEST
18:25 EEST
22:25 ICT
Clinical Case: Contraception, Pregnancy, Women's Health
Oana Sandulescu, MD, PhD

Carol Davila University of Medicine and Pharmacy

Bucharest, Romania

08:40 PDT
11:40 EDT
17:40 CEST
18:40 EEST
22:40 ICT
Live Q&A Clinical Case: Contraception, Pregnancy, Women's Health 
08:45 PDT
11:45 EDT
17:45 CEST
18:45 EEST
22:45 ICT
Clinical Case:  Switching Patients - Including for DDIs
Pavel Khaykin, MD

MainFachArzt

Frankfurt, Germany

09:00 PDT
12:00 EDT
18:00 CEST
19:00 EEST
23:00 ICT
Live Q&A Clinical Case:  Switching Patients - Including for DDIs
09:05 PDT
12:05 EDT
18:05 CEST
19:05 EEST
23:05 ICT
Clinical Cases:  Some Recent DDIs Case Conundrums!
Case 1:  Speaker to be confirmed
Case 2:  Speaker to be confirmed

09:35 PDT
12:35 EDT
18:35 CEST
19:35 EEST
23:35 ICT
End of Virtual Program
REGISTRATION FEES

In order to access this webinar, you must register online. Registration to the The Clinical Pharmacology and Antiviral Therapy: The Liverpool Course  is free of charge for all healthcare practitioners*. A registration fee applies to other individuals.

*Healthcare practitioners are defined as professionals that provide a type of health care service to patients living with HIV.  Please, contact the Conference Secretariat for more information at magdalena@vironet.com if you are not sure.

If you have any questions please contact Magdalena Pawlowska at magdalena@vironet.com.
MEETING OBJECTIVES

 

With this program we aim to:

  • Reinforce and develop the understanding of key clinical pharmacology concepts among junior colleagues in the fields of infectious diseases and hepatology (clinicians, pharmacists, academics, industry colleagues etc.).

  • Improve clinical pharmacology education and thereby the quality of patient care.

  • Educate healthcare professionals on how to use the Liverpool Drug Interaction Resources in their clinical practice.

  • Increase knowledge and confidence among healthcare professionals through practical examples of the Liverpool Drug Interactions Resources and discussion of case studies tailored to the local needs.

LEARNING OBJECTIVES

 

After participating in the Liverpool course, participants will be able to:

  • Describe in detail the terms pharmacodynamics and pharmacokinetics.

  • Define what is meant by clinically significant DDI and discuss DDI mechanisms.

  • Use the Liverpool DDI Resource with confidence in their daily practice.

  • Identify the potential of DDIs of ARVs and DAAs and use this information to improve their decision making in daily practice.

 
 
NEEDS STATEMENT

One of the main challenges when treating people living with HIV is to optimise their life-long treatment to improve their quality of life.  To be able to make decisions that will benefit the quality of patient care, there is a need for HIV clinicians to know more about the key concepts in clinical pharmacology and drug-drug interactions (DDI).  Therefore, a specific focus of this program will be DDI, which remain a major consideration in the management of people living with HIV.

 

Junior colleagues and residents training in HIV and hepatology (clinicians, pharmacists, academics, industry colleagues etc.) would benefit from educational resources in this area. In addition, as new drugs are approved continuously, updates/refresher talks are also important.  Furthermore, the population living with HIV is ageing, with an associated increase in co-morbidities requiring many co-medications.  This has greatly increased the challenge of DDI in the routine management of people living with HIV.

 

To determine the risks for DDI in their patients, healthcare professionals can use resources such as product safety information and results from co-administration studies.  However, it remains a time-consuming task and there is a need for quick and reliable methods to help clinicians determine potential interactions.  One effective and convenient method to determine DDI are online tools, such as the University of Liverpool drug interaction checkers, available at www.hiv-druginteractions.org and www.hep-druginteractions.org.

 

The Liverpool Drug Interaction Resources are regularly updated with the latest information on new antiretroviral agents and provide ready-to-use information about DDIs.  The aim of the Liverpool DDI websites is to provide a clinically useful, reliable, comprehensive, up-to-date, evidence-based drug-drug interaction resources, freely available to healthcare workers, patients and researchers.

 
CORPORATE SUPPORT

The Clinical Pharmacology and Antiviral Therapy:  The Liverpool Course is supported by an independent educational grant from ViiV Healthcare.

ViiV Healthcare was not involved in the development of content or selection of faculty for this educational activity.

 

Biltstraat 106

3572 BJ, Utrecht, the Netherlands

info@virology-education.com

  • White Twitter Icon
  • White LinkedIn Icon
  • White Facebook Icon

Tel: +31 (0)30 230 7140

© 2020 by Virology Education